Search Colleges

Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) Joint Entrance Examination (IIT JEE) 2012

Name of Institute / University

Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT)

Courses Offered

Admission to Under Graduate Courses in IITs


Candidates must make sure that they satisfy all the eligibility conditions given below for appearing in IIT-JEE 2012:

Date of Birth

General (GE) and Other Backward Classes (OBC) category candidates must have been born on or after October 1, 1987. Those born earlier are not eligible to appear in IIT-JEE 2012.

Candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), and those with Physical Disability (PD) must have been born on or after October 1, 1982. SC/ST/PD candidates born before October 1, 1982 are not eligible to appear in IIT-JEE 2012.

The date of birth as recorded in the high school/ first Board/ Pre-University certificate will be accepted. If the certificate does not mention the date of birth, a candidate must submit along with the application, an authenticated document indicating the date of birth.

Year of Passing Qualifying Examination (QE)

To appear in IIT-JEE 2012, a candidate must have either passed the QE for the first time, on or after October 1, 2010 or appearing for the first time in 2012. Those who are going to appear in the QE later than September 30, 2012 are not eligible to appear in IIT-JEE 2012.

The year of passing the QE will be determined based on the examination he/she passed the earliest out of the qualifying examinations listed below. In case the applicant passed more than one QE or attempted successfully same QE more than once, the year of the first successful QE/attempt will be used to determine the eligibility for IIT-JEE 2012.

The qualifying examinations are listed below:
The final examination of the 10+2 system, conducted by any recognized central/ state Board, such as Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi; Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi; etc.

Intermediate or two-year Pre-University examination conducted by a recognized Board/ University.

Final examination of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.

General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London / Cambridge / Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.

High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.

H.S.C. vocational examination.

Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling with a minimum of five subjects.

A Diploma recognized by AICTE or a state board of technical education of at least 3 year duration.

Any Public School/Board/University examination in India or in any foreign country recognized as equivalent to the 10+2 system by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

In case the relevant QE is not a public examination, the candidate must have passed at least one public (Board or Pre-University) examination at an earlier level.

Minimum Percentage of Marks in QE

Candidates belonging to GE and OBC categories must secure at least 60% marks in aggregate in QE. SC, ST and PD candidates must secure at least 55% marks in aggregate in QE.

Number of JEE Attempts

A candidate can attempt JEE maximum two times in consecutive years irrespective of whether or not he/she passed QE. Those who have attempted JEE in 2010 or earlier are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in IIT-JEE 2012.

How To Apply

Offline Application Process

A candidate can register Offline using the prescribed Optical Machine Readable (OMR) Application Form which can be obtained by cash purchase from bank branches given below with effect from 11 November, 2011.

OMR Application form cost including processing charges of 200/-

Form for GE/OBC Male candidates: Rs. 1800/-

Form for SC/ST/PD Male candidates: Rs.1000/-

Form for All Female candidates: Rs. 200/-

For List of Bank Branches CLICK HERE

Online Application process will start on 31st October, 2011


Contact Details

Entrance Date


Test Centers

IIT Bombay Zone Examination Centres

GOA: Panaji

GUJARAT: Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Surat, Vadodara


MAHARASHTRA: Akola, Aurangabad, Kolhapur, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nashik, Navi Mumbai, Pune, Ratnagiri, Solapur, Thane

RAJASTHAN: Ajmer, Bikaner, Jaipur, Jodhpur

IIT Delhi Zone Examination Centres:

DELHI: Delhi (East), Delhi (West), Delhi (North), Delhi (South), Delhi (Central)

HARYANA: Ballabgarh, Faridabad, Gurgaon


MADHYA PRADESH: Indore, Ujjain

RAJASTHAN: Alwar, Sikar, Udaipur

UTTAR PRADESH: Aligarh, Mathura

UAE: Dubai

IIT Guwahati Zone Examination Centres:


ASSAM: Dibrugarh, Goalpara, Guwahati, Silchar, Jorhat, Tezpur

BIHAR: Bhagalpur, Gaya, Katihar, Muzaffarpur, Patna




IIT Kanpur Zone Examination Centres:

MADHYA PRADESH: Bhopal, Gwalior, Jabalpur

UTTARAKHAND: Nainital, Pantnagar

UTTAR PRADESH: Agra, Allahabad, Gorakhpur, Jhansi, Kanpur,
Lucknow, Raibareilly

IIT Kharagpur Zone Examination Centres:


ANDHRA PRADESH: Visakhapatnam

CHATTISGARH: Bhilai, Bilaspur, Raipur

JHARKHAND: Bokaro, Dhanbad, Jamshedpur, Ranchi

ORISSA: Balasore, Berhampur, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Rourkela, Sambalpur

SIKKIM: Gangtok

TRIPURA: Agartala

WEST BENGAL: Asansol, Burdwan, Belur, Durgapur, Kharagpur, Kolkata (North), Kolkata (Salt Lake), Kolkata (South), Malda

IIT Madras Zone Examination Centres:

ANDHRA PRADESH: Guntur, Hyderabad, Kurnool, Nellore, Tirupathi, Vijayawada, Warangal

KARNATAKA: Bangalore, Mangalore, Mysore

KERALA: Kochi, Kozhikode, Palakkad, Thiruvananthapuram, Thrissur

PUDUCHERRY: Puducherry

TAMIL NADU: Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai, Salem, Tiruchirapalli, Tirunelveli

IIT Roorkee Zone Examination Centres:

CHANDIGARH: Chandigarh

HARYANA: Ambala, Kurukshetra, Panipat, Rohtak, Sonipat, Yamuna Nagar

HIMACHAL PRADESH: Mandi, Palampur, Shimla

PUNJAB: Amritsar, Bathinda, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala

UTTARAKHAND: Dehradun, Roorkee

UTTAR PRADESH: Bareilly, Gautam Budh Nagar (Noida), Ghaziabad, Meerut, Moradabad, Saharanpur, Varanasi


Schedule of IIT-JEE 2012

The examination will be held on Sunday, April 8, 2012 as per the schedule given below:

Paper 1: 09.00 to 12.00 hrs (IST)

Paper 2: 14.00 to 17.00 hrs (IST)

The schedule will remain unaltered even if the above date is declared a public holiday.

Type of Examination
There will be two question papers, each of three hours duration. Both the question papers will consist of three separate sections on Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. The questions will be of objective type, designed to test comprehension, reasoning and analytical ability of candidates.

The answers for each of the questions are to be marked on a separate, specially designed, machine-gradable sheet of paper (ORS – Optical Response Sheet). While answering each of the questions the candidate is expected to darken the bubble(s) against correct answer(s) using black ball point pen only. In some sections, incorrect answers may be awarded negative marks.